Do You Need a Visa To Go to Hawaiʻi?

There is an Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) Visa Waiver Program that allows citizens or nationals of 39 countries to enter the United States (Hawaiʻi is America’s 50th state) for the purposes of tourism, for a period of up to 90 days, without requiring a visa if they apply and are approved for ESTA. Think of it as a compulsory security check.

As of September 2023, the official ESTA website states you are eligible to apply for admission under the Visa Waiver Program if you are a citizen or national of one of the countries listed:

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Republic of Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Kingdom.

Beware of fake websites, if you are asked to pay more than $21 you are in the wrong place! This is the official ESTA website address:

Apply for ESTA no later than 72 hours before departing for America. Real-time approvals are no longer available and arriving at the airport without a previously approved ESTA could result in being denied boarding.

Have your travel information handy for the online application including passport details, contact information, and address while in the U.S. (your accommodation). Take note of your ESTA reference number and travel with a copy of your approved ESTA.

If you are denied ESTA, or are not from one of the 39 countries above, please seek advice from your nearest United States Embassy or Consulate to confirm the process for entering America.